Blog #9: Battling On The Frontline

One thing I battle with on a daily basis is is the dreaded P word: procrastination.

Procrastination is the bane of my existence like I am sure it is for many people. I will often get waves of productivity where I will makes a list of things to do. Then, when it comes to completing this list – I put it off.  I will often make excuses. I’ll will tell myself: ‘I will do it tomorrow’, ‘I’ll do it in an hour’ or the ever classic ‘I’ll do it it a minute’. Even at the time of writing this blog post I have put off doing it for three hours.

The thing is procrastistation I see is a battle. It is the thing on my mind all the time. Unless I really invest my time by burying my head into what I need to, I will procrastinate. 

But is procrastination a bad thing? Or is it your subconscious telling you to put off the stuff that doesn’t matter and to do the things that do matter? 

Actually if you procrastinate by putting off a project or piece of work, the pressure can motivate you to do well. On the other hand, it doesn’t work for everyone. It also will create more work to-do in a time space where more time is necessary.

More featuring cons of procrastination is anxiety and disorganisation which can lead to a project or work not being the best. Thus setting the procrastinator to fail.

To no procrastinate we have to discipline ourselves, set deadlines and stick to them. My deadline for a blog usually is to start on a Monday and finish by a Thursday. Sometimes this may not be the case. From me I should be on Blog #11 by now but haven’t due to procrastination. I often think I write a blog post to procrastinate!

So whatever makes you procrastinate look it in the face and go to war with it. Defeat it and progress.

Or you can do it later.

Leave a Reply

